The entirety of Forty Beacon reflects the understated elegance that was Beacon Hill in the early 19th century, from its stately façade to its grandly scaled interiors decorated with period architectural details. The building is currently undergoing renovation, and will offer four spacious condominium residences that will live comfortably in the 21st century.
Facing Boston Common, the spacious homes offer elevator access, private terraces, wide floor plans and on-site parking. The building dates to 1818 and boasts the historic detailing—including a gorgeous Bulfinch style staircase—and ceiling heights that are a hallmark of that era. The remodel has preserved as much detail and scale as possible, but also caters to a transitional aesthetic by offering top-of-the-line finishes and every modern residential amenity.
More about 40 Beacon’s history…An exquisite example of the Greek Revival style of architecture, this handsome brick structure was originally built in 1818. Carved Greek key patterned lintels surmount the elegant six-over-six windows on the first floor and a classic Ionic columned entry of white marble draws your eye to towards the leaded glass fanlight beyond. Delicate, wrought iron balconies line the piano nobile of the home, a floor with breathtaking, 16-foot ceilings and triple sash windows original to the residence.
The land here, overlooking the Boston Common, had been owned by painter John Singleton Copley prior to 1818, and in 1819, Nathan Appleton and hotel owner Daniel P. Parker bought a home that had been standing on the property and tore it down. They then had twin houses built, designed by architect Alexander Parris and numbered 39 and 40 Beacon Street. This home and its neighbor have had a storied architectural and social past. In number 40, the main sweeping staircase is an original in the design of Charles Bulfinch. In 1843 Appleton’s daughter Fanny was married in number 39 to poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.
From 1914 to the 1990s number 40 housed the Women’s City Club of Boston. Now known as the Appleton-Parker House, it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.
Campion and Company is the exclusive sales and marketing agent for Forty Beacon. If you have questions or would like to schedule a private showing: